Teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum

Teacher professional development and classroom resources across the curriculum

Monthly Update sign up
Mailing List signup
the expanding canon teaching multicultural literature
Workshop Home
Reader Response: Pat Mora and James Welch Reader Response: Keith Gilyard and Mourning Dove Inquiry: Rudolfo Anaya and James Baldwin Inquiry: Tomás Rivera and Esmeralda Santiago Cultural Studies: Ishmael Reed and Graciela Limón Cultural Studies: N. Scott Momaday and Russell Leong Critical Pedagogy: Octavia E. Butler and Abiodun Oyewole Critical Pedagogy: Abiodun Oyewole and Lawson Fusao Inada
Theory Overview Teaching Strategies Authors and Literary Works Resources
Session 3 Inquiry: Rudolfo Anaya and Esmeralda Santiago - Authors and Literary Works

Author: Rudolfo Anaya
Work: Bless Me, Ultima
Author: James Baldwin
Work: The Fire Next Time, "Sonny's Blues," and "The Rockpile"


REFLECTION - Interactive Forum

Explore two poems using four approaches.


Share your views on the discussion

Download the Session 3 Guide

Rudolfo Anaya

Widely acclaimed as the founder of modern Chicano literature, Rudolfo Anaya was born on October 30, 1937 in a small village in New Mexico. He was raised in a devout Catholic home, the fifth of seven children. Like Antonio in Bless Me, Ultima, his mother's lineage is llano (farmers) and his father's vaquero (cowboys); his beloved grandmother was, like Ultima, considered by many in their community to be a curandera, or healer. Anaya has spent his life in the southwestern United States, and the magic and myth of his fiction draw heavily on the landscape and traditions of that region.

Bless Me, Ultima took Anaya seven years to write and was first published by the Chicano magazine El Grito. In 1972, Anaya was awarded the prestigious Premio Quinto Sol Award for the novel. He then went on to write two more novels to complete his New Mexican trilogy, Heart of Aztlàn (1976) and Tortuga (1979). From the beginning of his career, he has been a passionate promoter of Chicano literature. In fact, many say he has done more to promote its publication than any other single person. He has also been an eloquent proponent of multiculturalism and pluralism in American culture, and speaks and writes regularly on the bigotry that people of color still face in this country.

Currently a professor emeritus of English and creative writing at the University of New Mexico, Anaya is the author of seven critically acclaimed novels. He has also written plays, poems, essays, short stories, books for children, and a series of mystery novels featuring police investigator Sonny Baca. Anaya received the National Medal of Arts from President George W. Bush in 2001.

Works by the Author

top NextWork: Bless Me, Ultima

Support Materials About This Workshop Sitemap

© Annenberg Foundation 2017. All rights reserved. Legal Policy